Russia History Timeline  

Timeline of Russian history is marked by several facts and a plethora of interesting information about its bygone periods. Here is a brief and comprehensible list of most significant events and their corresponding dates, arranged in a chronological order:

1200s BC: Ukraine was inhabited by the Balkan people, called the Cimmerians.

700s BC: The Scythians of Iranian origin defeated the Cimmerians.

200 BC: The Scythians ceded Ukraine to the Samaritans, who brought in Roman and Greek influence to popular Ukrainian culture.

200 AD: The region was taken over by the Visigoths of German origin.

370 AD: The Visigoths were defeated and forced to abdicate by the Attila-led forces of the Huns.

800s: Various regions of Russia were inhabited by the Eastern Slavs.

862: The region, which had by now become popular for ‘Rus’, was ruled by the Varangian Price Rurik.

988: East Orthodox Church was established by Vladimir I, the Russian Grand Prince.

1200 – 1480: Russia was conquered by the Mongol army, headed by renowned Genghis Khan.

1480: Russia was freed from the clutches of Mongols by Ivan III.

1547: Ivan IV was proclaimed the first Russian Czar

1682: Peter-the Great took over the throne and became the next Czar.

1762: Catherine-the Great was proclaimed the Russian Empress

Late 1700s: Poland was split between Prussian, Russia, and Austria. Poland also ceded Ukraine, Belarus, and Lithuania to Russia.

1801: Alexander I was proclaimed the Russian Czar

1812: Napoleon-led troops invaded Russia but were badly defeated by Alexander

1825: Nicholas I was declared as the next Czar of Russia

1853: Crimean War between Ottoman Empire and Russia broke out

1867: Alaska was sold by Russia to the USA

1894: Nicholas II became the Russian Czar

1898: The Marxists established the Social Democratic Labor Party in Russia.

1903: Lenin was declared the head of Bolsheviks

1914: Russians opposed the Austrians and Germans during the First World War

1917: Russian government was overthrown by revolutionaries

1918 (July): Czar Nicholas-II, along with his family, was brutally assassinated.

1918: Russia was converted to the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic that was later transformed to the Union of Soviet Socialist Republic (USSR).

1924: Death of Lenin

1929: Stalin was declared the head of USSR

1939: Poland was conquered by German forces, leading to the Second World War

1939: Poland was occupied by Russia

May, 1945: Berlin was ceded to Russia

More Articles :

Russia History Timeline




Brief-History-Of-Russia      Several people, including Asian Huns, Turkish Avars, and Asian Huns, invaded Russia over many centuries. Most parts of the Russian continent were inhabited by Eastern Slavs by 9th century. It was only after the advent of the Scandinavian warriors and traders called the Varangians that these fragmented groups of Eastern Slavs got united and formed the state of Russia. More..




Home  • Archaeological Periods   • Art History  • Artifacts • Biography   • Computer   • Holiday History   • Miscellaneous  • Military History   • Privacy Policy   • Contact

Russia History Timeline )
Copyright © 2012, All Rights Reserved.